Monday, July 5, 2010
Wooo I made it! 7/3
So I finally found an internet cafe to update you all on my life! So much has happened in the past three days so I will try to write as much as possible now. Mom and Cody dropped me off at O`Hare around 8:15 and luckily we brought an extra bag because of course my suitcase was over 50 pounds. After transferring some things, getting my ticket and checking my bag it was time to say good-bye. I tried so hard not to cry but the tears came. I think I hugged them each like 10 times before I finally left and went through security. Well my bag was pulled aside and the security guard told me he needed to do a vapor test on my contact solution. Um..ok? Then he carefully examined my toothpaste and sent me on my way. I guess it was 4th of July weekend but really dude? I had taken my altitude medication early that morning so I attempted to sleep on the plane but I ended up having to get up 5 or 6 times for the lady next to me to go to the bathroom. Maggie, this reminded me of our flight to Cancun when I was trying to crawl over you to get to the bathroom and that guy woke up! This lady at least woke me up before crawling over me. Arriving in Miami, I was told I need to find the J-terminal which meant I needed to exit the current terminal I was in. Ok sweet. Well usually at most airports they have the tram that takes you a half mile to your destination. No. Not in Miami. I lugged my backpack AT LEAST a half mile and had to go through security AGAIN in order to get to my gate. The security dude threatened to take my contact solution but I told him the guy in CHicago let me have it. He was not pleased but let me through. Honestly people? I found the Corona bar and ate some food when the Spain vs. Paraguay (I think? Sorry Cody) game came on. The bar was suddenly filled with people but there were about 50 others standing around outside. It was insane! I had to leave a little ways into to catch my flight. So the lady next to me on this flight asked me what I was doing in Quito and I explained that I was learning more spanish and helping in hospitals...in Spanish. All of a sudden she asked me if I wanted Ecuadorian friends. I said of course, so she whips out a pen and picture and tells me I should look up her son in Quito. His name is Carlos and he is 24. I`m pretty sure she was trying to set me up with him. Sorry Cody ;)She was really sweet though and gave me his and her email address in case I needed anything. If any of you heard about my Costa Rica trip a year and half ago you know about my travel day from hell and I was expecting nothing less during this adventure. BUT it went amazingly well!! My baggage came, although one of the wheels broke off my suitcase, sorry mom, I breezed through customs and then I saw a lady holding up the most glorious sign that read, "HILARY HILSABECK." I literally ran over to her before she could put it down. I have never been so thrilled to see my own name. And no one was grabbing me trying to throw me in a taxi as in Costa Rica. Seriously probably the best day of my life. So this lady, who I assume is my host mom, takes me to her car, we get in and start driving. So I call her "Francia" my host mom`s name and she says, "No no soy Carmen." Uh..what?? Great I got in the wrong car and have no idea where I am going but then she explains that she is Francia`s daughter. Ok. awesome. I was able to see a little bit of Quito on the drive to Francia`s house and I spotted a McDonalds so if the guinea pig diet doesn`t work out for me I have a back up plan. When I arrived Francia had made me dinner and I met my roommate Alisa who is a first year med student at Albert Einstein in Bronx, NY. She was trying to talk to me during dinner but I was exhausted and all I wanted to do was sleep. I went to my OWN room, with TWO beds, unpacked and literally crashed in the middle of trying to put my earplugs in. Oh I tried calling my mom but I couldn`t figure it out so I was hoping to ask someone the next day. I have to be at the school at 8 AM in the morning for orientation. Buenos noches! (Good night)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Hey Hil, so much fun to read your blog. Took me about 30 min. and a phone call to Hannah to figure out how to comment. But I now know how and it is so much fun. Finally not raining here today, Hannah is on her way to Missouri to the "Hat Doctor" needs some hats reshaped and Hunter will be mowing today. I am at work-called student health and you are good to go! Miss you & love you-Mom
ReplyDelete